I think, the world would be a better place if we were more in touch with our own love languages, and the love language of those nearest and dearest to us.

Here are the five universal love languages:

Quality Time

This can be defined as time spent with your partner, close family, or friends that is regarded as exceptional/special, to either yourself or those involved. It is time set out of busy programs in order to be present in the moment with the particular person/receiver.

If your partner’s love language is Quality Time try the following:

  • Be present mentally when around and with them,
  • Give them your undivided attention,
  • Allow time to connect and have conversations.

Try to avoid:

  • Being emotionally unavailable when with them,
  • Viewing them as clingy or needy.


Words of Affirmation

This can be defined as conveying warmth through spoken appreciation or praise. 

If your partner’s love language is Words of Affirmation try the following:

  • Inserting notes of encouragement in their lunch box,
  • Sharing a playlist that resembles their taste in music,
  • Complimenting them and appreciating them all the time.

Try to avoid:

  • Thinking they know how loved they are,
  • Being harsh with them,
  • Not appreciating their efforts towards you.


Physical Touch

This can be defined as the receiver fancying physical expressions of love over all other expressions.

If your partner’s love language is Physical Touch try the following:

  • Give them regular massages,
  • Give them hugs all the time,
  • Always touching them in whatever insignificant form to remind them you are near, when together,
  • Initiating intimacy.

Try to avoid:

  • Do not let long periods go by without intimacy,
  • Waiting for your partner to ask for physical affection.


Acts of Service

This can be defined as actions, rather than words, that are used to demonstrate and receive love.

If your partner’s love language is Acts of Service try the following:

  • Explore other means to offer assistance, e.g. running a bath, offering to cook, run and errand etc.
  • Be spontaneous,
  • To say and do what you mean,

Try to avoid:

  • Not being helpful,
  • Not keeping to promises made.


Receiving Gifts

This can be defined as gifting the receiver, as gifting is representational of love and affection.

If your partner’s love language is Receiving Gifts try the following:

  • Leaving small gifts all over which do not necessarily involve money, e.g. making a romantic dinner for two at home.
  • Send them or bring them their favorite flowers.

Try to avoid:

  • Not gifting.


The question that might be crossing your mind now is, how do I discover someone else’s or my partner’s love language? 

Well, Dr. Gary Chapman, the author of the famous book – 5 Love Languages suggests that to discover another person’s love language, one must observe the way they express love to others, and analyze what they complain about most often and what they request from their significant other most often.

So look at your partner, how do they express love?  What do they nag about the most? That is your answer most probably to all your troubles if you are experiencing any.

Ever heard of the phrase you cannot pour from an empty cup?

Well, with the love languages it is the same, if my or your love language tank is empty, I or you cannot fuel myself/yourself from that empty tank to shower them with love.

Try out the test to find out what your love language will be at:


Interestingly my primary love language is: Quality Time.



‘’Curvy Scorpio’’


Write A Comment